11-03

When my uncle was granted citizenship in the U.S. by virtue of a petition filed by his daughter who is a natural born U. S. Citizen, he also elected to change his first name.  So from being a Jose Paulo de Guzman Asuncion, he is now Mark Arthur de Guzman Asuncion.

He recently celebrated his 65th birthday and is now taking an extended vacation in the Philippines.  He is technically “retired” from private employment in the U.S. but still has the option to continue working for smaller firms.

Last Monday, he requested me to help him order copies of his and my aunt’s birth certificates and two copies of their marriage certificate.  Of course, I ordered online at PSAHelpline.ph because I know they can get it done in 2 to 3 days max.  He told me to have it delivered to his home address in Quezon City and list him as the recipient.

I did as he requested and was able to successfully submit all orders in less than 15 minutes.  I went to a nearby 711 store to pay for the documents (yes! 711 accepts PSAHelpline.ph payments!) and told my uncle to just wait for the courier within the week.  I also reminded him to prepare his IDs as these will be asked of him before he receives the documents.

Later that evening while we were having dinner, my uncle showed me all the IDs he has in his envelope.  It was then that I realized that he no longer had any IDs that bore his old first name, Jose Paulo.  From his driver’s license, to his Senior Citizen ID, to his passport, he is identified as Mark Arthur De Guzman Asuncion.  Since he is declared as the owner of the ordered documents, and his name on his PSA birth certificate is Jose Paulo, he needs to show the courier a valid ID with his name listed as Jose Paulo.

We launched a major search operation in his old cabinets and desk drawers; I asked the helper to find any old IDs that do not have expiration dates and bear his name as Jose Paulo.  After turning his entire bedroom upside down, we finally saw one!  The last SSS ID he had before he left for the U.S. in 2002 was neatly kept in a box and still looked as good as new!  And, it does not have an expiration date!  Of course, his name on this ID is Jose Paulo De Guzman Asuncion.

When the PSAHelpline.ph courier arrived yesterday with the documents, my uncle was eagerly waiting by his porch with his SSS ID.  He handed this to the courier who carefully studied the ID and my uncle’s face.  The courier smiled and said: “Parang di po kayo tumatanda!”

So yes, you can use an old ID when receiving your ordered PSA documents, just as long as these are non-expiring IDs like your SSS.

My uncle, having stayed in the U.S. for 14 years, is used to quick, efficient, and hassle-free transactions.  And I must say that he was really impressed with the online ordering and delivery services of PSAHelpline.ph.  He could not believe how far the PSA has gone from being an overly crowded office with people lined up everywhere, to having an online portal where Pinoys can easily request for their documents and have these conveniently delivered wherever in the country.

He also loved being told that his photo on his old SSS ID looked like it was taken just yesterday.

ad