Philippine Statistics Quiz 2010

Bonjour. Mabuhay.

For statistics fans, I’m sure you would be glad to know that 17 Young Statistics Whizzes Vied for 19th PSQ top plum last December 8, 2010 at the BSP Assembly Hall. It was a sizzling hot contest, showing bright minds on numbers and statistics.

The 17 national finalists, who vied for this year’s Philippine Statistic’s Quiz (PSQ) National Finals, have been determined after the regional championship simultaneously held last November 23, 2010 nationwide.

Competing in this year’s National Finals were:

CAR – Gabrielle Paul S. Pascual – Saint Louis University – Bachelor in Medical Laboratory Science
NCR – Zheng Rong S. Wu – Ateneo De Manila University – BS Applied Math
I – Lou Benedict C. Valle – Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-La Union Campus – BS Elec Eng
II – Aprilene D. Razalan – Nueva Vizcaya State University – BS Mathematics
III – Edmar L. Songsong – University of the Assumption – BS Civil Engineering
IV-A – Angelica P. Masalunga – Manuel S. Enverga University Foundation – BS Accountancy
IV-B – Thessa Mae E. Pena – Divine Word College of San Jose – BS Accountancy
V – Loen May F. Gonzales – Ateneo De Naga University – AB Journalism
VI -Agnes U. Casiano – University of Saint La Salle – BS Chemical Engineering
VII – Rieland J. Cuevas – University of San Carlos – BS Accountancy
VIII – Clar Don L. Evangelio – Visayas State University – BS Civil Engineering
IX – Mark Gil G. Abne – -Western Mindanao State University – Ipil External Studies Unit – BS Elementary Educ
X -Clint Drexel M. Ongue – Mindanao State University-IIT Iligan City – BS Physics
XI – Alex John D. Abando III – Ateneo de Davao – BS Chemical Engineering
XII – Fernnie M. Magalona – Mindanao State University-Gen. Santos City – BS Civil Engineering
ARMM – Datu Hamad M. Abas – Mindanao State University-Maguindanao – BS Computer Science
ARAGA – Airene M. Concha – Philippine Normal University-Agusan Campus – General Education

The PSQ aims to appraise the competency and skills of college freshmen in statistics as acquired from high school. The National Statistics Office and the Philippine Statistical Association organized this noble undertaking in 1992 to advocate public awareness and appreciation of statistics. The Commission on Higher Education began endorsing this national competition since 1994.

Contestants and their respective coaches outside National Capital Region shall be provided with round trip fares. Accommodation and allowance of all regional champions and coaches were also be provided by the PSQ organizers.

Furthermore, the national finalist were awarded with a PSQ medal and a certificate of recognition. Their respective coaches, the college or university where the regional champions are presently enrolled and the high school where they graduated from will all be given certificates of recognition. These are in addition to cash prizes, trophies and several gift items from various sponsors and donors at stake for the top five winners in the PSQ national finals.

Last year, Ateneo de Zamboanga University’s Abdel Azis A. Alfad of Region IX topped the 18th PSQ National Finals held at the Social Security Sytem Auditorium. Alfad received a cash prize of P25,000.00 and was awarded a specially designed trophy, among others. His coach, Abner C. Angeles was also conferred with a certificate of recognition and cash reward of P12, 500.00.

Published by MasterCitizen

I collect citizen facts and the usual stuff that might be important for a Pinoy's everyday life....Subscribe to get updates, opinions, and news.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: